Buddhist prayer flags atop the Thorong La, Nepal

Looking at the NYTimes and other sources to try and understand the magnitude of the tragedy unfolding in Japan, and thus for humanity at large, words elude me; but in my body and heart I feel deep sorrow and am called to contemplate the preciousness of life, and the need to reach out to those in the greatest need at this moment. I will be donating 5% of my earnings for the next quarter of yoga to emergency relief efforts in Japan. I have been exploring the website Charity Navigator, and invite you to do the same, if you choose to donate on the material plane. Doctors Without Borders seems always a good choice, and Direct Relief International and Convoy of Hope are also seemingly fine organizations with solid reputations. I know also that our thoughts and prayers make a difference…

(photo credit: http://www.myspace.com/fudomouth/blog/508174846)

